Because of a kdrama

I’m a bit obsessed with korean dramas or kdramas. They are so full of the most ridiculous content you can imagine. Switching bodies, poor girl/rich boy love triangle, affairs, time travel and the list could go on. But one of the most common threads in many of these kdramas is love.

I just finished watching the kdrama called Goblin with Gong Yoo (who I love). It was such a great show!!! I wish they would have extended it to 20 episodes and not just 16. Anyways, I cried during the last three episodes as all the stories/plots came together in the end. I cried because when love is lost and gained again, it’s a miracle. I won’t get into the plot here, but I do highly suggest watching this drama. It will most definitely get you hooked on kdramas.

But I want to take the time to talk about the love aspect of it. The love between the main characters – while so unattainable in real life- works perfectly well for the story. The problem with this? I’m such a hopeless romantic. I screamed at the part where the characters found each other again. A love that lasts a lifetime. I know that some people get to be with people they love for a lifetime (and by love, I’m speaking more about a significant other/husband/wife etc) and some people never find someone.

It’s how life works. We don’t all get to find love. We don’t all get a marriage, a family, a love that can only be found between married people. The more I watched the drama, the more I was certain that this is true. Friends often try and cheer me up by saying there is someone out there for me. And truth be told, there probably is. But that somebody won’t meet me. Why? Because it’s life. It’s not perfect. I can hope. I can pray. But some prayers aren’t answered and hope can only take you so far.

I realized through the ending of the drama that I’m most likely not going to find that in my life. If I believed in reincarnation (as in the drama), maybe in my next life. But because I don’t believe in that, I have this one life to live. I will make the best of it. I will try to be happy. I can make my happiness. I can focus on me. I can always live vicariously through dramas I suppose.

As I’m writing this, I’m forgetting the main point of this blog. I guess, I just wanted to write down this emptiness I’m feeling. This sadness. This heart is aching for something I haven’t even experienced. So why does it feel like my heart is in a million pieces?

This entry was posted in Love Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

