Chasing dreams

Yet again I find myself wondering what I want to do for the rest of my life. I keep thinking about staying at the paper and try to become like my boss, or get the hell out of San Antonio and only come back to retire. I usually lean more towards the second one. I love my city. It’s very unique. It’s not like the other major cities in Texas and I thoroughly enjoy that. We have the blessing of a big city, but the community of a small one (minus the everyone knowing each other). And I really feel that San Antonio is a great place to retire. I want to see other places. I have this thirst to want to see more. I’ve been to New York, Los Angeles, Miami, and of course South Korea. I’m visiting Japan next year and I may be heading to Boston for a week in May. I may also be returning to LA for three days to visit some really good friends of mine who are out there trying to make their dreams come true.

I envy those friends. They’re out there trying to make their dreams come true. I’m stuck here. Don’t get me wrong. I love what I do. I, for the most part, like the company I work for. But it’s definitely not what I want to do for the rest of my life. And while i mentioned that I think about being like my boss, I always end up thinking otherwise. Why? Even though my boss is amazing at what she does and she started out at the company like I did, it’s not what she really wanted to do. And even now she says if a job opportunity came up in what she really wanted to do, she’d leave in a heartbeat. She’s always stressed and truth be told, you can tell she really dislikes her job at times. I don’t want to have those days, even though I know they’ll come. I want to LOVE what I do. I want to go to work and  not dread going in.

I still have dreams of being a music journalist/marketer. I still have dreams of teaching English in Korea. I still have dreams of traveling. I have all these dreams that I want to pursue. And while I know I make up excuses to not pursue them, I really feel like I need to get a move on them. I’m only getting older. I’m 25 and my goodness…it feels like I’ve wasted half my life. What better moment than the now to pursue these dreams?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

