My Broken Road

Have you ever had that song that you can listen to and just have this utmost sense of sadness but hope? “Bless the Broken Road” by the Rascal Flatts is a song that does that to me. I’m not a fan of country, although there are some country songs that I like.

This song – it does wonders for me. It gives me such sadness. Every time I hear it, I feel like I’m a complete failure in my love life. It makes me feel like I spent too much time on one person when all these years I could have been searching for the one that loves me back. But at the same time, this song gives me hope that I’ll find that one person. It gives me hope that I’m not going to end up alone – that I really went down a long road, no matter how dark, to get to where that one person is. And they became the light while walking this road called life. It gives me clarity.

I’m not much of a spiritual or faithful person. I know that God exists. I struggle with letting him in. I always say I will, but I feel like I’ve been doing it on my own all these years that it’s hard to give myself to God when I don’t want to let go of who I am. But I know that eventually, that one day I’ll wake up and realize that … that it was God’s plan that I am where I am. I am a miracle. One day, and I hope it’s soon, that God finally finds his way into my heart. Cause it’s times like these I need him. Even if he’s always there, what does it matter if I don’t acknowledge him? You can walk into a crowded room and feel so alone and not say a single thing to anyone. I know when the time’s right – the silence will be broken.

One day, God will show up and I’ll accept. And then hopefully soon after, that Prince Charming will walk into my life. I have hope from that song – that the broken road will soon be healed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

